Mar 26, 2016

Wildfire in Kansas and Oklahoma kills livestock on ranches

Barber County, KS
Oklahoma
USA
by
Reuters
The Anderson Creek wildfire on the Oklahoma-Kansas border is seen NOAA images taken by the Suomi NPP satellite's VIIRS instrument around 3:50 pm ET (1950 GMT) on March 23, 2016, and around 3:30 pm ET (1930 GMT) on March 24, 2016. Image: NOAA
The Anderson Creek wildfire on the Oklahoma-Kansas border is seen NOAA images taken by the Suomi NPP satellite's VIIRS instrument around 3:50 pm ET (1950 GMT) on March 23, 2016, and around 3:30 pm ET (1930 GMT) on March 24, 2016. Image: NOAA

Crews battling a wildfire that scorched about 400,000 acres in Kansas and Oklahoma braced on Friday for wind gusts to change direction overnight, as they sought to control a fire so big it has sent smoke streaming into Kentucky.

The fire started in Oklahoma on Tuesday and moved into Kansas, with strong winds on Wednesday making it eight times bigger and forcing voluntary evacuations in rural prairie towns that ended as winds died down on Thursday